Proclamation 1 of 2022

PROCLAMATION

by

HIS EXCELLENCY EMMERSON DAMBUDZO MNANGAGWA, G.C.Z.M., President of Zimbabwe and Commander-in-Chief of the Defence Forces of Zimbabwe.

WHEREAS, in terms of section 129(1)(k) and section 159 of the Constitution of Zimbabwe, as read with section 39(1), of the Electoral Act the seats of members of Parliament for Pumula, Nkulumane, Epworth, Glen Norah, Harare Central, Highfield East, Highfield West, Kuwadzana East, Kuwadzana, Mufakose, St Marys, Glen View North, Kambuzuma, Harare East, Dangamvura-Chikanga, Mutasa South, Marondera Central, Marondera East, Murewa South, Chivi South, Mwenezi East, Binga North, Tsholotsho South, Mkoba, Kwekwe, Mbizo, Mberengwa South and Gokwe Central have become vacant by reason of members of the National Assembly having ceased to belong to a political party which they were members when elected to the National Assembly, by reason of the death of the members of the National Assembly and by reason of appointment of a member to another post;

AND WHEREAS it is provided by section 39(2) of the Electoral Act [Chapter 2:13], that after the President has been notified in terms of the said section of vacancies in the membership of National Assembly, he shall issue a proclamation ordering a new election to fill the vacancies in the same manner, mutatis mutandis, as is provided in section 38 of the said Act in regard to a general election;

AND WHEREAS, the Speaker of Parliament has notified me in writing of vacancies in the National Assembly due to the recall of the following Members of the National Assembly who ceased to belong to a political party which they were members when elected to the National Assembly; Sichelesile Mahlangu—Pumula, Kucaca Phulu—Nkulumane, Earthrage Kureva—Epworth, Wellington Chilombo—Glen Norah, Murisi Zwizwai—Harare Central, Erick

E. D. MNANGAGWA, President.

By Command of the President.

Murai—Highfield East, Happymore Chidziva—Highfield West, Chalton Hwende—Kuwadzana East, Susan Matsunga—Mufakose, Unganai D Tarusenga—St Marys, Willias Madzimure—Kambuzuma, Laxton Tendai Biti—Harare East, Chapfika Mutseyami—Dangamvura-Chikanga, Regai Tsunga—Mutasa South, Caston Mawetu—Marondera Central, Killer Zivhu—Chivi South, Prince Dubeko Sibanda—Binga North, Amos Chibaya—Mkoba and Settlement Chikwinya—Mbizo;

AND WHEREAS, the Speaker of Parliament has notified me in writing of vacancies in the National Assembly due to the death of the following Members of Parliament; Miriam Mushayi—Kuwadzana, Kennedy Dinar—Glen View North, Patrick Chidakwa—Marondera East, Joel Biggie Matiza—Murewa South, Joobsi Omar—Mwenezi East, Sibanda Zenzo—Tsholotsho South, Masango Matambanadzo—Kwekwe and Alum Mpofu—Mberengwa South;

AND WHEREAS, the Speaker of Parliament has notified me that a vacancy exists in the membership of the National Assembly for Gokwe Central Constituency following the appointment of Victor Matemadanda to the position of Ambassador to the Republic of Mozambique:

NOW, THEREFORE, under and by virtue of the powers vested in the President as afore said, I do, by this proclamation—

- (a) order new elections for the afore-mentioned Constituencies; and
- (b) fix Wednesday the 26th day of January, 2022, as the date on which the nomination courts shall sit, commencing at 10 o'clock in the morning, at—
 - (i) the Magistrates Court, Court 5, Tredgold Building, Leopold Takawira Avenue, Bulawayo, for the purpose of receiving nominations of candidates for election as members of the National Assembly constituencies situated in the Province of Bulawayo; and
 - (ii) the Magistrates Court, Tredgold Building, Leopold Takawira Avenue, Bulawayo, for the purpose of receiving nominations of candidates for election as members of the National Assembly

- Constituencies for Pumula, Nkulumane, Binga North and Tsholotsho South; and
- (iii) the Magistrates Court, Abdel Gamal Nasser Road (Rotten Row), Harare, for the purpose of receiving nominations of candidates for election of members of the National Assembly Constituencies for Epworth, Glen Norah, Harare Central, Highfield East, Highfield West, Kuwadzana East, Kuwadzana, Mufakose, St Marys, Glen View North, Kambuzuma and Harare East; and
- (iv) the Magistrates Court, 102–4, Main Street, Mutare, for the purpose of receiving nominations of candidates for election as members of the National Assembly Constituencies for Dangamvura-Chikanga and Mutasa South; and
- (v) the Magistrates Court, Ruzawi Road, Marondera, for the purpose of receiving nominations of candidates for election as members of the National Assembly Constituencies for Marondera Central, Marondera East and Murewa South; and
- (vi) the Magistrates Court, corner Robert Mugabe Street and Jason Moyo Avenue, Masvingo, for the purpose of receiving nominations of candidates for election as members of the National Assembly Constituencies for Chivi South and Mwenezi East; and
- (vii) the Magistrates Court, Emmerson Dambudzo Mnangangwa (Main Street), Gweru, for the purpose of receiving nominations of candidates for election as members of the National Assembly Constituencies for Mkoba, Kwekwe, Mbizo, Mberengwa South and Gokwe Central; and
- (c) fix Saturday the 26th day of March, 2022, as the day on which a poll shall be taken if a poll becomes necessary in terms of section 46(17)(c) of the Electoral Act [Chapter 2:13].